Saturday, September 23, 2017

Big Brother Love

Yesterday would have been my brother Ted's 60th birthday.

I had Accuradio on yesterday, randomly playing 1970s songs--the first song that played was "Stairway to Heaven," which I had to think was some sort of sign from above--the boy did love his Led Zeppelin. (The third song that played was "Free Bird," also a sign from above--nobody pronounced "Lynyrd Skynyrd quite like Ted did; number two was "Stayin' Alive.")

You were greatly loved, are hugely missed, and will never be forgotten, big bro.

Friday, September 22, 2017

Tallulah-Palooza Friday

No caption necessary...just...Tallulah Mae.

Thursday, September 21, 2017

A Rose By Any Other Name...

Rounding out the week o' fruit/fungus/flowers with a really pretty rose.

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Deja Tulip

Another tulip interior...they amaze me! Unfortunately, they don't last very long in the vase...

Monday, September 18, 2017

Pom-Pom-Pom-egranates

Check out these ginormous pomegranates! Not bad for a three-year-old (in the ground three years) tree. More to come, too!

What a difference three months make!

Friday, September 15, 2017

Tallulah-Palooza Friday

 Someone really wants her medicine, apparently...
...or perhaps she just wants the Milkbone inside the box?

Thursday, September 14, 2017

Teamwork

A delicious homemade pizza collaboration: I made the whole wheat crust and B. did the rest! Super easy and super yum!

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Monday, September 11, 2017

Sky Time

 Lots of moisture in the air, still, which means sweaty days--and lovely sunsets.


Friday, September 8, 2017

Thursday, September 7, 2017

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Great Advice for All of Us

 I have blogged about this public artwork before, here. But I REALLY like what I saw today:




...








...




Amen!

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Alstromeria Rocks (Rock?)


Such pretty flowers in so many color combos! And such long-lasting flowers in a vase. Can't recommend them highly enough!

Monday, September 4, 2017

Obeying the Law

As many of you know, it is mandatory to have ice cream on national holidays. And so we did!

Friday, September 1, 2017

Thursday, August 31, 2017

Figgy

Fresh fig clafouti! Very yum (if I do say so myself). You can make clafouti with any fruit; this is the first time I tried figs (which I adore), and it was a success.

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Why Not?

A dog, in an apron, making dinner.

That's all!

Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Love Vine


How pretty is this vine? It apparently has several common names, including Mexican coral vine and chain of love vine.

Monday, August 28, 2017

Street Art (Literally)

Just discovered this stencil in the middle of a neighborhood street...

Friday, August 25, 2017

Tallulah-Palooza Friday

Portrait of a dog with flipped ear. Art!

Thursday, August 24, 2017

Mystery Fruit


I'm not sure what this tree is--perhaps a pawpaw tree?--but whatever it is, it's LOADED with fruit!

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

XXX

Look, it's a two-headed bug...oh. Um...

Sorry, bugs--get a room!

(Apparently these are milkweed bugs--appropriate as they are gettin' busy on a milkweed leaf!)

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Bee Behind

This bee girl is enjoying some brilliant milkweed flowers. There were, of course, many monarchs fluttering around as well...

Monday, August 21, 2017

The Big Whoop

This is the eclipse at its most full point here in San Diego...the light was a weird yellowish-pinkish color. We had no glasses--procrastinators unite!--so we didn't actually see anything.

Onward to the next one in 2024! (I might order glasses now just to be sure!).

Friday, August 18, 2017

Tallulah-Palooza Friday

Hmmm...I feel like someone is watching me.

Thursday, August 17, 2017

I Like Coffee, Coffee Is Good!


Bring on the coffee!!!! I believe both of these were consumed on the same day (breakfast, afternoon break).

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

No Words

I've got nuthin' today...except I did re-read my blog post published the day after the election. It's here. I wish I could look at it and think, "Wow, what a crazy emotional overreaction THAT was." But no--it is more true than ever, 9 months on. And that's just sad.

Monday, August 14, 2017

Sign o' the Times

Yes, please. Lots of it...

Friday, August 11, 2017

Tallulah-Palooza Friday



Direwolf in da HOUZZZZZ! Tallulah Mae makes baby Nymeria's acquaintance. She is, of course, not impressed.

For those of you who are not GoT geeks [and who ARE you if you're not, LOL]: this is a stuffed toy of baby Nymeria, one of the six direwolf puppies adopted by the six Stark children (well, Jon Snow was allegedly a Stark bastard, but we all know that's not the case!).

Nymeria is one of two direwolves still alive--Arya shooed her away into the forest to escape being killed by the fuckwit Joffrey (her sister Sansa's direwolf, Lady, was killed instead--because Joffrey just SUCKED! But he's dead now, so there's that...). Nymeria is out there, in the wild; Arya just encountered her two episodes ago. Jon Snow's direwolf, Ghost, is also still alive, and still with Jon--Jon SNOOOOOOWWW.

Summer, Shaggydog, Grey Wind, and Lady are no longer alive, all killed by various assholes in the GoT universe (I'm looking at YOU, Ramsey Bolton!).

Game of Thrones geekery! How are we going to wait another year for the final episodes?!?

Thursday, August 10, 2017

At the Carwash

"Ooh ooh
You might not ever get rich
But let me tell ya it's better than diggin' a ditch
There ain't no tellin' who you might meet
A movie star or maybe even an Indian chief
(Workin')
At the car wash
Workin' at the car wash, yeah
Come on and sing it with me
(Car wash)
Sing it with the feelin' y'all
(Car wash, yeah)..."


Wednesday, August 9, 2017

More Vintage Goodness


I mean...how cute is this?! (They are blank cards...)